A Dangerous Job People Don’t Think of

rOne of the most dangerous jobs that people don’t think of is one that is held by most teenagers and young adults.  The job is being a delivery driver for places like pizza shops and Chinese restaurants.  While delivering food a driver could be robbed, held hostage, or killed even while making their delivers.  I saw this idea while working at pizza shop in Gates, New York.  This pizza shop has a very wide delivery range that stretches and covers most of the Rochester city.  While delivering we have had people robbed, cars vandalized, and been at murder scenes.  Many crazy things can be seen while delivering for some place like this and teens and young adults are the ones doing it.

One of our drivers is in mid twenties and has been attempted to be robbed at gun point at least five times while working at the store.  The only thing that saved him from losing all they money that he had of the stores is that he has a license to own a pistol and happens to carry it while he is on deliveries.  Lucky for him he is able to protect himself.  However, it is sad that in the world today that someone like him has to carry a gun to keep himself safe while doing something to help others like delivering food.

Multiple drivers have had their cars vandalized while driving to or at their delivery cites.  People have thrown eggs at the cars of drivers while they were driving.  Some have had even rocks thrown at their car to the extent where it cracks their widow on their cars.  Some people I have heard of have even gone to the extent of slashing drivers tires while they were in a house delivering the peoples food.  It is mind blowing to me that some people have nothing better to do or are so distraught that they have to create damage like this to a persons car who is just doing his job and bring food to people.

I myself have not been robbed or had my car messed with while driving.  However, while driving in the city I have been to three homicides in the matter of the last six months.  Every time I have pulled up to a delivery the cops fly by me to where the murder was and next thing I know is when I’m walking to go to the house I am stopped so the police can put up the yellow tape.  My most recent experience was just four days ago when pulled up to the house so did the cops.  They told me to stay in the car for a minute and once they secured the area they put up the tape and I was allowed to make the delivery.  According to the guy I delivered to he heard a couple of shots and called the cops.  The guy I was delivering to lived next door to the crime scene.  The cops came over to me to get my statement however I got there when they did and didn’t see anything.  I really didn’t get why they asked me cause they passed me when going to the house so clearly I didn’t see anything because I got there when they did.

Delivering pizzas can be a very dangerous job that many people don’t think of.

Would you do it?

Student #5

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment